work

29 Sep

My work consists of ‘teaching’ preschool and kindergarten kids, Korean ages 4 to 7 (translates to normal ages turning ages 3 to six this year).  I love the kids so much.  And of course, they all love ‘Laura Teacher’!!!  :)The school moved a couple of months ago to a new building.  Now, instead of having our own building of 3 floors plus the roof and a garden, we have a 4th and 6th floor plus the 8th floor roof.  To take the kids between the 4th and 6th we have to use the elevators.  The stairs are too dangerous for them.  Here I’m in the elevator with one of my 5 yr old classes (actual age 3-4).  I was trying to get my slippers in the picture but they were moving a little too much.  ^^

That’s my lovely Lora’s face looking up at me in the elevator.  ♥
Between classes, as well as later, when it’s time for the kids to take the buses home (there is a bit of a wait time, since only one bus can pull up outside at a time, and only one group of kids can go down the elevator at once), I often sit and hang out with the kids.

Kate (6 yr old class – just turned 5)  is absolutely adorable.  But once again…. it’s hard to take a picture of kids who move around so much!!

I love the kids shoes!!!  These are Kate’s cute little koala shoes.

laura

3 Responses to “work”

  1. susieliesalot October 1, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Oh my gosh that first pic is so stinking cute!! and I love the koala shoes. very sweet 🙂

  2. julochka October 3, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    i have to admit i don’t really get how ages can be different in korean. i mean, a year is a year…it’s like to do with the sun and the planet and stuff, right?

    that said, those koala shoes are super cute. 🙂

  3. silveroses69 October 4, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    They figure that when you are born you are already a year old – so, time since conception. Then they don’t add a year to your age at your birthday, everyone adds a year to their age at the same time – Lunar New Year. So after the new year, before your birthday, it is two years difference, then after your birthday it is one year difference. A tad complicated in a way, but fairly easy to figure out. 🙂 What gets me is that if you are born in December, by the lunar new year you are already considered 2 years old here, when really you are only a month or two. I don’t like Korean age. Why would I want to think of myself as being older than I am???

Leave a Reply

