frozen pipes

24 Jan

It’s been cold here the past couple of days. It was -2 F (-19C) this morning.

I quickly realized I didn’t have water Saturday morning and thought I must have forgotten to pay the water bill. Upon further inspection I realized that my main water pipe was frozen. Who knew? This is my first winter in my house.

After lots of phone calls it was determined my only course of action was to use a blow dryer on the pipe. And it worked.

Later that night my friend and I went shopping for something to insulate the pipe…sadly it was dark by the time we were able to get to it and that part of the basement (which is dirt and really scary) doesn’t have a light.

Here I am admiring my handwork via flashlight after insulating the pipe…and it worked. No frozen pipes Sunday or this morning.

-Megan

4 Responses to “frozen pipes”

  1. Luci January 24, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    oh my gaaaawd that is cold!!! how can you even function at that temperature?

  2. Stacey January 24, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Go you good thing you! That’s awesome that you could use a hair dryer to fix the problem. Handy dandy! (And I agree with Luci, I think I would cease up and die in that)

  3. v. January 24, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    I can’t even imagine living with those temperatures! And what’s worse… I can’t even imagine having to go down to a scary dark basement to blow dry my frozen pipes. Go you!

  4. silveroses69 January 31, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    I’ve been out in my utility hall thawing pipes almost every morning now. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

