shoe per diem dec 20, 2010 – terracotta army

28 Dec
 

shoe per diem dec 20, 2010, originally uploaded by piaktw.

Finally we made our way to this round of the Terracotta Army exhibition.  Last time it was on display in Stockholm was in 1984. I remembered we queued for hours on a bitterly cold winter day back then, me and a friend. The weather much like now, but no queueing this time (and I would not have been that patient now). For some reason I seem to recall it was worth the wait and the money then, that it was indeed an impressive exhibition.

This time I was utterly disappointed. About 10 clay soldiers in glass boxes, a few small horses and some smaller sculptures. Not at all what I had expected – had I read more about the exhibition beforehand I would probably had realized it would be far from the world heritage grandeur I had thought of – and for quite a hefty entrance fee (~22 USD).

And as impressive as the work and craftsmanship itself is it also oozes monumental madness, tragedy, waste and sadness. Only humans use and abuse others to create something as ridiculous and crazy.

All that went through my mind while we strolled the exhibition, me wearing the red you-know-the-too-well-by-now-boots.

There’s a replica exhibition at the China center (not without its controversy) center called Dragon Gate some few hours drive north of Stockholm, where the display seems to be much more of impressive-clay-army-like. Which quite possible would make be even more sad than these few clay fellas did.

2 Responses to “shoe per diem dec 20, 2010 – terracotta army”

  1. Stacey December 28, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    Sad that it didn’t live up to expectations, but cool that you got to see it!

    • Pia K January 11, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

      yeah, kind of sort of my feeling, stacey…

Leave a Reply

