shoe per diem dec 13, 2010 – lucia parcel and lussekatter

15 Dec

shoe per diem dec 13, 2010, originally uploaded by piaktw.

On December 13 Sweden celebrates the traditional day of Lucia (read more here). It was long since I participated in any such traditional celebration, but I always bake the traditional Swedish saffron buns called “lussekatter” or “lussebullar” (plur.) the day before so we can enjoy them on Lucia day.

Also this year. And on the 13 I got a nice package in the mail. (Or rather the delivery man left it outside my door, which I think is quite a weird thing to do since anyone that went past my house, very close to a public walking path, could have snatched it if felt so inclined…) A pretty bag containing pretty things.

Lussekatter and a fine package, who then cares if the shoe per diem happens to be a pair of very shaggy (though trustworthy I really insist), grey, Birckenstock gnome-slippers? Not me.

6 Responses to “shoe per diem dec 13, 2010 – lucia parcel and lussekatter”

  1. Megan December 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    bbrrrrrrr. the lusseullar looks delicious. maybe i should try my hand at making some!

  2. paudecanela December 15, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    ooooh i think i’d like lussebullar!

    I love getting packages in the mail, always feels a little bit like christmas! the postman here also insists on leaving them on our doorstep which is kind of annoying because anyone could take away too.

    • Pia K December 15, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

      it doesn’t happen all that often, but still when it does i get annoyed. both the mailman and delivery men. and the stupidiest thing with this was that later in the day another delivery (from same company) had been at by door when i wasn’t home, left a message for me to call. and then it was only a very small box of business card that he really could have left in mailbox… silliness!

  3. Stacey_Riordan December 15, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    Man, food and presents, I have to say, right there you have captured one of my most favourite combinations!

  4. Luci December 16, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    oooooh i totally have my own little feast day, how awesome! esp. since my real name is lucinda, so a derivative of lucia if you ever heard one 🙂

Leave a Reply

