12 december 2010 // taking a break

14 Dec

It’s been a busy few days (months?). I feel guilty I haven’t been as good a Shoe Per Diem-er as I was hoping to be in December but I’m definitely going to try to make up for it in the second half of the month.

This shoeless SPD picture was snapped last sunday afternoon, during the few hours I spent lying in the sun with some wine and my book, trying to forget about the nightmare we had gone through the day before (I’ll get to it in the next sentence) and the long drive back home that morning.

As for saturday, my reason for not not taking a shoe per diem picture is as follows: we decided to return to the tongariro crossing (one of the most famous day hikes in the world, on Mount Tongariro volcano). If you remember, we’d already done it back in March and I had a SPD shot with my hiking boots and the Emerald Lakes in the background to prove it. Well not this time. Why? Because, thanks to the huge cloud that insisted on staying with us through the eight hours of the hike, we didn’t see the Emerald Lakes. In fact, we didn’t see *anything*. Nothing. Zero. Niente. In fact, we could hardly spot the track markers, which made for a few moments of panic about being lost.

The cloud wasn’t the only problem, though. There was also the rain. Eight hours of walking in the rain, freezing cold, our clothes heavy from all the rain water in them. And that wasn’t even the most annoying thing of all, no. There was also the wind. Gale force wind. MetService mentioned 85km/h but MetService lies and I’m pretty sure that, at some stages, it got to three digits. We had to crouch down and hold onto rocks at the top of the mountain and we were still scared of being blown off.

So yeah, with that in mind, I think you will excuse my lack of photo. I took maybe three or four photos of the hike before the camera lens went all foggy and wet and my fingers became too cold to even click the button.

I’ve got no excuse for any of the other days, though. On a more positive note, and despite a few days of absence, I’m so glad we’re already in December and we managed to stick to this project all year long. I plan to continue next year and hope you all continue too!

paudecanela

3 Responses to “12 december 2010 // taking a break”

  1. Stacey_Riordan December 14, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    That sounds shithouse, and is an example of what happens to you when you don’t learn how to swim and have to go to the mountains on the weekends instead of the beach! New Years resolution for you = learn to swim!!

  2. Pia K December 15, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    i’m not a fan of swimming either, but i’d rather go the beach anyway:) anyway, sounds horrible, good to have a nice relaxing time the next day! or indeed a nice relaxing day anytime.

    yay for spd next year!

  3. Megan December 15, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    oh no…you deserve lots of glasses of wine in the sun for that horrid trip. glad you didn’t get blown off the mountain.

Leave a Reply

