shoe per diem dec 4, 2010 – christmas trees not for me

8 Dec

shoe per diem dec 4, 2010, originally uploaded by piaktw.

The sight of cut down Christmas trees for sale this time of the year makes me utterly sad. Such a waste of tree life for a few days, possibly weeks, of selfish human “pleasure”.

I have a sweet ol’ sugar-loaf fir tree in garden that I adorn with lights every winter. For me those lights in the darkness of winter give comfort, look cute and symbolizes recycling at its best.

The Christmas trees on sale here cost about 43 usd for a regular tree, 90 for the “royal” version. None came home with me.

Shoe per diem (not surprisingly) was the red tall boots El Naturalista Iggdrasil.

One Response to “shoe per diem dec 4, 2010 – christmas trees not for me”

  1. Megan December 8, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    yes, i agree about using a real tree is a waste. but i’m a hypocrite…my son begged, and begged, so i did it. i’m a tree-killer. we’re going back to our trusty fake tree next year. this was a one-time thing.

Leave a Reply

