My catchup post

24 Nov

Have been away. From it all. And by it I mean not only good coffee, but the internet too. Don’t hate me, but here is what I have been doing:

So I went to the Kingdom of Tonga for one week. It’s only a three hour flight from NZ, but is a whole world away. The first four nights I stayed in a cheap, but very fun hostel in town, and from there I did the touristy things like tours and the such:

Went on a day trip to a couple of reefs in the ocean to go snorkeling on, and finished up on an island (Pangimotu), which I went back to the next day to lie on:

After I had had enough of tripping around I booked into an awesome place right on the beach where I had my own fale complete with bathroom, porch… and hammock. My next three days went something like this:

Lie in hammock and read

Snooze.

Go for a swim:

Go back to reading in the hammock.

Go for a walk to the shops to buy some snacks:

Go back to the hammock.

Go for a swim.

Go back to the hammock for a nap.

Read book. Finish book in one day. Start next book:

Go for a swim.

Find coconuts to take pictures of so I can walk along the beach singing “I’ve got a lovely pair of coconuts”. Then remember that the song actually goes on about a lovely pair of rollerskates, but Mah. There is no-one around to correct me so I’ll sing what I want.

Then realise that you may slowly be going mad from lack of human contact. Then realise if that is so you could go mad for a couple more days thank you very much. Then realise that you have to come home.

Go back to the hammock and have a nap because it is an exhausting life you lead.

Come home.

Sad face.

PS: I caught up with all your postings, they look awesome. Luci: Hatepe has been my special spot forever, but you can share it too. Vera, those photos look friggen a.m.a.z.i.n.g. Your parents must have been loving it! Em: You know Tequila is never anybody’s friend. I do like what you did with your hair though. And you’d never catch me in that scary thing. I’d be the one that peed her pants and had to be taken out early. Oh wait. You didn’t did you? Julie: I have been dreaming of a pedicure the whole time I have been away and those white booties tipped me over the edge! Megan: I say if you wanna twirl, twirl! Sometimes I sing really loudly and do wheelchair dancing down the hall of my office just couse. You gotta do what you gotta do. Barbara: so many cool flats! Peace out peeps.

6 Responses to “My catchup post”

  1. Luci November 24, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    oooooooh stacey that looks absolutely amazing!! glad you had an awesome time x

  2. megan November 24, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    i want to hate you, just a little bit, but i can’t. that being said, i’m madly jealous. what an incredible trip. i just dug my winter coats out of the closet.

    • Stacey_Riordan November 24, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

      Oh no! You’ll have to start living vicariously through us Southerners, that’s what I did when you guys were in summer. And I heard you got 2nd in the marathon. Did I tell you I think you are awesome much??!!

  3. emmakate November 24, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    looks like you had a tonga-rific time! good girl.
    i think tequila and i make a great team. and yes…i had to be guided out…after i got so scared i was a blubbering mess in the corner and snorted so loud the ‘scaring people’ couldn’t scare but only laugh. yeeep. i’m that awesome.

    • Stacey_Riordan November 24, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

      Oh dear. I am proud of you for going though. And at least for once that “Make sure you keep a spare pair of undies with you at all times” rule of mum’s would have came in handy. And you are awesome 🙂 oxoxOX

  4. paudecanela November 27, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    You rock and so does Tonga. oxox

Leave a Reply

