in recovery

8 Nov

Despite a really horrible, emotional, and extremely stressful* week leading up to running the Marine Corps Marathon on Sunday, Oct. 31, I did it! I finished marathon #2!!!

My time was 4 hours, 16 minutes. I didn’t beat my NY marathon time (4:14), but considering the week I had, I was happy to just finish.

I’m taking it easy and slowly recovering. I’ll probably do my first post-marathon run tomorrow.

I’ve already started making marathon plans for next fall.

*My dad is really ill and not doing well at all AND my son got a stomach bug hours before I was supposed to leave for DC. I made it, but barely and not without an incredible amount of help & support from some really great friends.

6 Responses to “in recovery”

  1. kristina November 8, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    congrats on your second marathon!
    sorry that you had such a rough time, and that you’re dad is not doing well.
    xox
    k

  2. emmakate November 8, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    well done! sounds like you have some amazing friends. and i hope your family all feel better soon ♥

  3. heidikins November 8, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Hope your men (son and dad) get feeling better soon, and I really hope your body is well on it’s way to recovery. Congrats on finishing in such a kick-ass time!

    xox

  4. luci November 9, 2010 at 2:05 am #

    not just any marathon, the marine corp marathon?! you are amazing. sorry to hear about your family though, i really hope everyone is feeling better soon.

  5. Stacey_Riordan November 9, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    Ditto what everyone else said. I am so proud of you for the marathon and hope your dad pulls through! oxoxo

  6. paudecanela November 19, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    only just catching up on shoe per diem posts. congrats on the marathon, megan, you’re such a super star! do know that you’ve got people all over the world sending you positive thoughts and hoping that the men of your life all feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

